The Story Geeks
Game of Thrones: How nerds became kings and queens by usurping the Iron Throne.

Game of Thrones: How nerds became kings and queens by usurping the Iron Throne.

May 14, 2019

SPECIAL RELEASE! As GAME OF THRONES careens toward its final episode, Jay Sherer invites Stefan Sasse (from the Boiled Leather Audio Hour podcast) and Rod and Karen (from The Black Guy Who Tips podcast) to discuss why GAME OF THRONES matters so much to our generation.

GAME OF THRONES has become one of the most watched cable television show of all time. But... why? 

  • What has made the show (and the books) so popular?
  • Does GAME OF THRONES reflect truth? If so, how?
  • What characters do we resonate with... and why?

Be sure to subscribe to The Black Guy Who Tips and the Boiled Leather Audio Hour wherever you listen to podcasts!

Also, we have two amazing AFTERCASTS for you this week! Listen to Jay's full-length conversations with Stefan, Rod, and Karen. Both conversations were fun, engaging, and at times, profound. Get access to them for $2-a-month or more!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

MORE Avengers: Endgame! - Hawkeye Is Awesome Now, Time Travel Implications, and Fat Shaming?

MORE Avengers: Endgame! - Hawkeye Is Awesome Now, Time Travel Implications, and Fat Shaming?

May 7, 2019

Hawkeye as Ronin is awesome... Time travel makes things interesting... And is that really fat shaming? The Story Geeks Patreon supporters, Nick Prokop and Ray De Leon join Jay Sherer to react to (and dig a little deeper into) AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

AFTERCAST (exclusive for Patreon supporters): Ray and Nick stick around to discuss Thor, the Infinity Gauntlet, and more! $2-a-month supporters get access to ALL our Aftercasts!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

Avengers: Endgame - Reaction - SPOILERS!

Avengers: Endgame - Reaction - SPOILERS!

April 30, 2019

"We're in the endgame, now." AVENGERS: ENDGAME! Megan Salinas, host of the No Love Lost podcast joins Daryl Smith, Sandra Dimas, and Justin Weaver to react to (and dig a little deeper into) AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Plus, Helen O'Hara from the Empire Podcast gives us some of her feedback on Endgame as well! This is a long one, but it's one you'll definitely want to listen to if you've seen AVENGERS: ENDGAME! 

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

Captain Marvel - The Avenger’s Most Powerful Hero - With Marie-Claire from What The Force?

Captain Marvel - The Avenger’s Most Powerful Hero - With Marie-Claire from What The Force?

April 23, 2019

90s? Flurkens? Feminism? What important themes appear in CAPTAIN MARVEL? Marie-Claire Gould from the What The Force? podcast joins Sandra Dimas and Justin Weaver to dig deeper into the MCU's latest film... CAPTAIN MARVEL!

AFTERCAST: Marie-Claire sticks around with Sandra and Justin to keep digging even deeper into CAPTAIN MARVEL... including discussion around Goose!

 

This is Episode 5 in our MCU series leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME! Next week, we will be LIVE on The Story Geeks YouTube channel with a full (spoiler-filled) reaction to AVENGERS: ENDGAME! Catch us LIVE at 8:00PM (PT)!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Best MCU Movie - NERDFIGHT!

The Best MCU Movie - NERDFIGHT!

April 16, 2019

What's the BEST MCU Movie? It's time for a NERDFIGHT! Episode 4 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Mike Ehmke, host of The Mighty Marvel Geeks podcast, and Megan Salinas, host of the No Love Lost podcast join Daryl Smith and Sandra Dimas to fight over the best MCU movie!!!

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay hang out in studio with Sandra and Megan to discuss their favorite MCU movies... $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Evolution of Thor Throughout the MCU… with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

The Evolution of Thor Throughout the MCU… with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

April 9, 2019

The Evolution of Thor in the MCU. Episode 3 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl Smith and Jay Sherer to dig deeper into Thor's evolution and his character journey through the MCU.

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay talk about more characters and their journeys throughout the MCU... this week: the characters who died in Infinity War (e.g., Gamora, Spider-Man, Black Panther, and more!). $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

NERDFIGHT! The Best Spider-Man… with Michael Gordon from the ESO Network

NERDFIGHT! The Best Spider-Man… with Michael Gordon from the ESO Network

April 2, 2019

Who's the BEST Spider-Man? It's NERDFIGHT time!!!

Here's Episode 2 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Michael Gordon, co-host of the Earth Station One Podcast and the writer behind Tiki Zombie, moderates today's NERDFIGHT between Jay Sherer, Justin Weaver, and Sandra Dimas.

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

  • Week 1: IRON MAN in the MCU

  • Week 2: NERDFIGHT: The BEST Spider-Man
    • Guest: Michael Gordon from the ESO Podcast
  • Week 3: THOR in the MCU 
    • Guest: Helen O'Hara from the Empire Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: Characters who lived through Infinity War
  • Week 4: NERDFIGHT: The BEST MCU Film
    • Guests: ...to be announced
  • Week 5: CAPTAIN MARVEL 
    • Guest: Marie-Claire from the What the Force Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: ...digging even deeper!
  • Week 6: AVENGERS: ENDGAME Reaction (also available on our YouTube channel recorded LIVE)

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

THE AFTERCAST: Michael Gordon talks more about who his personal choice for the best Spider-Man would have been. $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

IRON MAN in the MCU - I am your nuclear deterrent - With Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

IRON MAN in the MCU - I am your nuclear deterrent - With Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

March 26, 2019

IRON MAN in the MCU. Episode 1 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl Smith and Jay Sherer to dig deeper into Tony Stark as IRON MAN and his character journey through the MCU.

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

  • Week 1: IRON MAN in the MCU

  • Week 2: NERDFIGHT: The BEST Spider-Man
    • Guest: Michael Gordon from the ESO Podcast
  • Week 3: THOR in the MCU 
    • Guest: Helen O'Hara from the Empire Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: Characters who lived through Infinity War
  • Week 4: NERDFIGHT: The BEST MCU Film
    • Guests: ...to be announced
  • Week 5: CAPTAIN MARVEL 
    • Guest: Marie-Claire from the What the Force Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: ...digging even deeper!
  • Week 6: AVENGERS: ENDGAME Reaction (also available on our YouTube channel recorded LIVE)

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay talk about more characters and their journeys throughout the MCU... this week: the characters who died in Infinity War (e.g., Gamora, Spider-Man, Black Panther, and more!). $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Death of Superman with Dan Jurgens

The Death of Superman with Dan Jurgens

March 19, 2019

The ideal superhero: SUPERMAN. Dan Jurgens, author of The Death of Superman, joins Daryl and Justin to dig deeper into this iconic story.

Iconic comic book writer and artist, Dan Jurgens, explains how The Death of Superman was made. How the story and artwork came together. His approach to this classic story. And much more!

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Justin break down more iconic superhero deaths! More opinions from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

Batman v. Batman - Who’s the BEST live-action Dark Knight?

Batman v. Batman - Who’s the BEST live-action Dark Knight?

March 12, 2019

Our latest NERDFIGHT: Batman v. Batman v. Batman!!!

Mike Gordon, host of the ESO Podcast and writer of Tiki Zombie, moderates our latest NERDFIGHT! Here are the fighters and their choices for the BEST live-action Dark Knight:

Who will win? Who SHOULD win? Mike Gordon will decide! Listen to the podcast, and then PLACE YOUR VOTE on our poll in The Story Geeks Facebook Group poll!

 

THE AFTERCAST: Mike Gordon shares his opinion on who he thinks the BEST Batman is! More opinions from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com