The Story Geeks
Outer Wilds - An Open World Indie Video Game!

Outer Wilds - An Open World Indie Video Game!

September 7, 2020

A Storytelling-Driven Indie Video Game - This Week We Play WHAT REMAINS OF EDITH FINCH!

Casual gamer Justin Weaver and serious gamer Ryan Swindoll are joined by Nick Duke to dig deeper into Outer Wilds! Here are the topics from today's conversation:
  • The various themes found in Outer Wilds by Mobius Digital.
  • Ryan calls this his favorite game of 2019. What makes it so amazing?
  • What is it like to play an open world game without levels and quest lines?
  • How can a game explore ideas as different as quantum mechanics and roasting marshmallows at a campfire?
  • How the frustration Justin experienced playing this game taught him about himself.
  • We discuss the various planets and rules of this solar system.
  • Music is such a powerful tool for storytelling, and this game used it in some surprising and effective ways.
  • What is the Eye of the Universe? Is it another Quantum Mechanic or is it a picture of God?
  • We also talk about all the times we crashed and died!

Stay tuned to The Story Geeks Podcast for our next episode as co-hosts Sandra, Nataly, and Cilla dig deeper into Mulan with Alan Ng from Film Threat! Mulan just came out on September 4th on Disney+. Let us know what you thought of this movie before the podcast!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

What Remains of Edith Finch - Great Storytelling in Indie Video Games

What Remains of Edith Finch - Great Storytelling in Indie Video Games

August 24, 2020

A Storytelling-Driven Indie Video Game - This Week We Play WHAT REMAINS OF EDITH FINCH!

Casual gamer Justin Weaver and serious gamer Ryan Swindoll are joined by Jimmy Roth to dig deeper into What Remains of Edith Finch, a storytelling-driven indie video game!
  • In our fourth episode discussing a specific video game Ryan Swindoll and Justin Weaver are joined by their friend Jimmy Roth, who has been a huge contributor to the conversations on The Story Geeks Facebook Group.
  • Together they will explore the various themes found in What Remains of Edith Finch by Giant Sparrow.
  • What Remains of Edith Finch takes about 2 hours for many players to complete and is probably the easiest game on our curated list to watch as a "movie." We highly recommend playing or viewing it before you listen to our podcast.
  • This game asks us to consider how we approach death and invites us to consider the joy of people's lives, regardless how long or short.
  • We explore the nature of "magical realism" in the tall tales we see throughout the game. How did you interpret the various stories, like Odin Finch sailing his house from Norway to Washington State?
  • Is Jimmy's Grandpa the best storyteller ever?
  • Let us know what you think. Do you agree with our conclusions?  Did we miss something? We want to hear what you are thinking about after exploring the Finch house and learning so many family secrets with Edith.
  • Keep your eyes peeled for an upcoming conversation about What Remains of Edith Finch on The Story Geeks Youtube Channel!

Join us for our next conversation on OUTER WILDS by Mobius Digital. Story Geek and co-host Nick Duke will join Ryan and Justin to discuss this final game in the curated list!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

Inside by Playdead - Horror in Indie Video Games

Inside by Playdead - Horror in Indie Video Games

August 10, 2020

Horror, Indie Video Games, and Deeper Insights - This Week We Play INSIDE by Playdead!

Casual gamer Justin Weaver and serious gamer Ryan Swindoll are joined by The Story Geeks co-host Sandra Dimas to dig deeper into Inside, a horror indie video game by Playdead!
  • Inside (the game) can take around 3 and a half hours to complete and rewards replay. It can also be viewed on youtube with or without a player commentary in less than 2 hours.
  • IGN gave this game a 10 out of 10.
  • It is the "spiritual sequel" to Playdead's first game Limbo.
  • This game is rated M for blood, gore, and violence.
  • Spoiler Warning: we jump right into the content and experience of this whole game.
  • What does a game that centers heavily on mind control have to say about the value of individuals?
  • The game's creators have said very little about the meaning of this game, so how do we handle the variety of possible interpretations?
  • Is the monstrous Huddle (or "Human Meatball") the most human thing in the game?
  • How can we find hope in such dark stories?
  • Let us know what you think.  Do you agree with our conclusions?  Did we miss something?  We want to hear what you think is going on Inside.

Join us for our next conversation on What Remains of Edith Finch by Giant Sparrow with special guest, Jimmy Roth.

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

Journey - Why It’s the Most Award-Winning Indie Video Game

Journey - Why It’s the Most Award-Winning Indie Video Game

July 27, 2020

Journey. An award-winning indie video game with deep spiritual underpinnings.

Casual gamer Justin Weaver and serious gamer Ryan Swindoll dig deeper into Journey!
 
On today's show:
  • In our second episode discussing a specific indie video game, we take a closer look at Journey by thatgamecompany.
  • This game is less than two hours long and rewards replay.
  • This is a BAFTA award winning game, and holds the Guinness World Record for “most mainstream game awards won by an indie video game.”
  • Austin Wintory’s gorgeous soundtrack for this game was nominated for a Grammy in the Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media category. The first game soundtrack to be considered for this award.
  • Is this the perfect game to play during this time of social distancing?
  • What does this game have to say about trauma, obstacles and struggles?
  • What is this game an analogy for?
  • Is this a picture of reincarnation?
  • Is this a metaphor for a "spiritual journey"?
  • How is it possible to have an entire game with no written or audible language?
  • Ryan and Justin talked for over two hours about this game, so there is a planned second podcast from all the topics we had to cut that will be exclusive to Patreon supporters coming in the future.
  • To watch the #ourjourney video we highlight in the podcast click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5px3qZQYoD4
  • Let us know what you think.  Do you agree with our conclusions?  Did we miss something?  We look forward to continuing on this journey with you.

Up next on our indie video game series: Inside by Playdead!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

Untitled Goose Game! - A silly, hilarious indie video game with heart and based on… schadenfreude?

Untitled Goose Game! - A silly, hilarious indie video game with heart and based on… schadenfreude?

July 13, 2020

Untitled Goose Game! The first video game in our Indie Video Game Series! And it's a ridiculous one!

Casual gamer, Justin Weaver, and serious gamer, Ryan Swindoll, are joined by Nataly Guzman to discuss Untitled Goose Game!
 
On today's show:
  • Short interviews with the youngest Story Geeks ever on the show!
  • What about this game is so funny?
  • What do multiple generations of players think about this game?
  • Is this game a perfect example of “schadenfreude”? (What is “schadenfreude?!?!")
  • What was the funniest part of Untitled Goose Game to you?
  • Is the goose simply a menace displaying no empathy, or does the goose have something to teach this town, and its inhabitants, through the mischief?
  • Feel free to continue interacting with us about Untitled Goose Game, and be sure to jump into the conversation on our next game, Journey!
  • Thanks to Lynn, Jimmy, Debra and Jordan for interacting with us. Jump into the conversation and you may hear your name and question or comment on the next episode.
  • Honk!

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

The Story Geeks Talk Indie Video Games - Introduction!

The Story Geeks Talk Indie Video Games - Introduction!

June 29, 2020

The Story Geeks Talk Indie Video Games!

Our very first episode of a special summer series... What Indie video games should you play and what do their stories have to say?

 
Casual gamer, Justin Weaver, and serious gamer, Ryan Swindoll, kick off their summer series with an intro into our latest podcast! On today's show:
  • Can we create a community around indie video gaming and a deeper search for the Truth?
  • Why aren't the stories in video games discussed in deep ways?
  • Are indie video games even worth discussing?
  • We'll introduce the list of 5 games (all gems!) we're playing together!
  • Why you should join us in playing "Untitled Goose Game" (we're discussing that in 2 weeks!).
  • Want to join our "book club" for video games? We'll be posting consistently in The Story Geeks Facebook Group! Join the group and submit questions for us to discuss!

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie | Nataly: @nata_hime | Cilla: @skillalovespops | Ryan: @rswindoll

 
The Most Impactful Geek Stories - Daryl and Jay

The Most Impactful Geek Stories - Daryl and Jay

June 8, 2020

The conclusion of The Story Geeks Club chosen series!

Jay and Daryl share the geek stories most impactful to them!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie

Onward - The Last Geek Film We Saw in Theaters

Onward - The Last Geek Film We Saw in Theaters

June 1, 2020

Onward... another great Pixar film!

Nataly, Nick, and Sandra dig deeper into Pixar's latest fantasy world on this week's The Story Geeks podcast!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie

Most Impactful Geek Stories: The Phantom Menace, LOTR, LOST, and Avatar: The Last Airbender - Justin and Nataly

Most Impactful Geek Stories: The Phantom Menace, LOTR, LOST, and Avatar: The Last Airbender - Justin and Nataly

May 25, 2020

The Movies, TV Shows, and other Geeks Stories that impacted us!

Justin and Nataly discuss the stories that shaped their lives and perspectives of the world on this week's The Story Geeks podcast!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie

Snowpiercer - Is the world doomed to injustice and classism?

Snowpiercer - Is the world doomed to injustice and classism?

May 18, 2020

Snowpiercer... Nihilism on a Train?

Daryl, Justin, Nick, and special guest Helen O'Hara dig deeper into the modern science fiction classic, Snowpiercer!

 

Do you love stories and storytelling--especially sci-fi, fantasy, and comic book movies? Join The Story Geeks Club! It's FREE! Join The Story Geeks Club here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thestorygeeks/

Want MORE from The Story Geeks? Become a VIP Member of The Story Geeks Club: https://www.patreon.com/thestorygeeks

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PURCHASE TIMESLINGERS! Jay and Nathan's time travel novel is available now!

Or get our brand new novel, DEATH OF A BOUNTY HUNTER! Now only $0.99!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver | Nick: @ndukie

Play this podcast on Podbean App