What is an ANTI-HERO? Batman… Deadpool… Daryl Dixon? - Let’s Dig Deeper

October 16, 2018

Is Batman one? Deadpool has to be, right? What about Daryl Dixon?

What is an ANTI-HERO? On today's podcast, Anthony Holdier (from The Story Cauldron podcast) joins Daryl and Jay to define what an ANTI-HERO is and determine which characters fit that mold. It's not as easy as you might think...

Defining ANTI-HERO on today's The Story Geeks podcast! 

This week on the Patreon-exclusive Aftercast... Daryl and Jay review the latest geek film to hit theaters... VENOM. Is it as bad as everyone says it is? Find out on Patreon!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

00:0000:00

TOP 5 ANTI-HEROES - Is VENOM on the list?

October 9, 2018

Who are the TOP 5 ANTI-HEROES of all time? Daryl and Jay breakdown their choices from geekdom. What anti-heroes are on YOUR Top 5 list? Deadpool? Daryl Dixon? Mike Sullivan? (Do you even know who Mike Sullivan is? You will after you listen to the show!)

Be sure to catch our 10 through 6 choices to round out our TOP 10 ANTI-HEROES on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

READY PLAYER ONE with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast - Let’s Dig Deeper

October 2, 2018

READY PLAYER ONE! What concerns us about virtual worlds? What are the character's motivations throughout the film? Where does this film fit in Spielberg's canon? On this show, we dig deeper into READY PLAYER ONE!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl and Jay to dig deeper into Steven Spielberg's film, READY PLAYER ONE...

Also, don't miss our READY PLAYER ONE Aftercast! Extra content from The Story Geeks, available now on The Story Geeks Patreon account! You get exclusive access to Patreon for only $2-a-month!

 

Want more from Helen O'Hara and The Story Geeks? Check out our podcast focusing on Captain America's character journey throughout the MCU.

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

GREEN LANTERN - Argh… Let’s Make It Better - with NerdSync

September 25, 2018

Batman vs. Superman feels like Shakespeare next to GREEN LANTERN... which only means that The Story Geeks need to Make It Better!

Scott Niswander (from NerdSync) joins Daryl and Jay to exchange ways they would make GREEN LANTERN better. There are a LOT of ways...

Share YOUR thoughts on how to make GREEN LANTERN better in the The Story Geeks Facebook Group! And, if you like what we do, we would appreciate your support over at Patreon.com. We love geek movies! Do you? If so, we could use your support!

 

This week on the Patreon-exclusive Aftercast... Scott Niswander hangs out for even longer to come up with MORE ways to make GREEN LANTERN better. Did anybody recast the role and remove Ryan Reynolds? Listen to find out!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

Star Wars: LEIA ORGANA - from Princess to General

September 18, 2018

General LEIA ORGANA! To The Story Geeks, she'll always be royalty. This week, on The Story Geeks podcast, we dig deeper into LEIA ORGANA's journey from Princess Leia to General Leia. How did Leia change over the years? How did she grow? Is Leia someone we should look up to?

Alexis Torres (from Black Hollywood Live and AfterBuzzTV) joins Daryl and Jay to dig deeper into one of our favorite Star Wars characters: LEIA ORGANA. What do you think of Princess/General LEIA? Share your thoughts in The Story Geeks Facebook Group!

 

On this week's The Story Geeks Aftercast - exclusive for Patrons - Our Top 5 Female Star Wars Characters! For only $2 a month, YOU can get access to our Patreon Aftercasts! We would appreciate your support over at Patreon.com!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

TOP 5 TIME TRAVEL MOVIES - With the Earth Station One Podcast Crew

September 11, 2018

The TOP 5 TIME TRAVEL MOVIES! What are the best time travel movies of all time? How many of the Back to the Future films make the list? What else will show up? What would show up on YOUR list?

Mike Faber and Michael Gordon, co-hosts of the Earth Station One Podcast join Daryl and Jay to determine their TOP 5 TIME TRAVEL MOVIES. But did they get it right? Share YOUR thoughts in The Story Geeks Facebook Group!

Want to hear the rest of our TOP 10 TIME TRAVEL MOVIES? Just like what we do in general? We would appreciate your support over at Patreon.com!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

CAPTAIN MARVEL News Reaction w/ Network 1901 & NerdSync

September 9, 2018

How does CAPTAIN MARVEL fit in the MCU? How will she interact with Thanos? And why should we care?

Angie Taylor (from Network 1901--be sure to check out her Issue #1 series) and Scott Niswander (from NerdSync) join Daryl to break down the new set photos released last week from the CAPTAIN MARVEL set. They also take some guesses at what CAPTAIN MARVEL might mean for the MCU at large.

Please share YOUR thoughts on CAPTAIN MARVEL in The Story Geeks Facebook Group! And, if you like what we do, we would appreciate your support over at Patreon.com. We love geek movies! Do you? If so, we could use your support!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

EVENT HORIZON w/ Chris Hewitt from The Empire Podcast - Let’s Dig Deeper

September 4, 2018

It's nightmare fuel time as Jay and Daryl are joined by Chris Hewitt from the Empire Podcast to dig deeper into EVENT HORIZON! All three of us revisit EVENT HORIZON for the first time in over a decade. Did our opinions change? And how do we think EVENT HORIZON handles "hell"? Listen in to find out! And then, let us know your thoughts by posting in our Facebook Group!

Do you love The Empire Podcast crew as much as we do? Listen to our Captain America podcast w/ Helen O'Hara!

Also, on the Patreon AFTERCAST, it's a Scary Movie Month retrospective. What'd we like? What'd be hate?  Listen to our thoughts on Patreon! It's available to the public for FREE until 09/11/18! But, if you become a Patreon supporter, you get access anytime you want!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

 

00:0000:00

TOP 5 SCARY MOVIES - Oh, the horror… - Let’s Hash It Out

August 28, 2018

Not all scary movies are horror movies... are they? Hmm... While you ponder that question, listen to JayDaryl, Sandra (from 28:19 Show), and Producer Freddie share their TOP 5 SCARY MOVIES! Did we hit on YOUR Top 5? What would you put in YOUR TOP 5 SCARY MOVIES? Let us know by posting in the Facebook Group!

 

Want to hear our 10 - 6 TOP SCARY MOVIES? Find that show on Patreon! Unlock bonus Patreon content for $2-a-month and signature content for just $3-a-month!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00

GET OUT - Philosophy, Spirituality, and Purpose - Let’s Dig Deeper

August 21, 2018

Best Original Screenplay of 2017... GET OUT! One of the most intense, poignant  films of the year, so of course we had to dig deeper into it.

JayDaryl, Michael Young (from NERDSoul), and Megan Salinas (from Silver Screams) break down the philosophy, perspective, and the themes of GET OUT!

 

Want to listen to the full, unedited 2-hour+ version of our GET OUT podcast? Become a Patron and get access to it!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com 

00:0000:00