The Story Geeks
Captain Marvel - The Avenger’s Most Powerful Hero - With Marie-Claire from What The Force?

Captain Marvel - The Avenger’s Most Powerful Hero - With Marie-Claire from What The Force?

April 23, 2019

90s? Flurkens? Feminism? What important themes appear in CAPTAIN MARVEL? Marie-Claire Gould from the What The Force? podcast joins Sandra Dimas and Justin Weaver to dig deeper into the MCU's latest film... CAPTAIN MARVEL!

AFTERCAST: Marie-Claire sticks around with Sandra and Justin to keep digging even deeper into CAPTAIN MARVEL... including discussion around Goose!

 

This is Episode 5 in our MCU series leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME! Next week, we will be LIVE on The Story Geeks YouTube channel with a full (spoiler-filled) reaction to AVENGERS: ENDGAME! Catch us LIVE at 8:00PM (PT)!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Best MCU Movie - NERDFIGHT!

The Best MCU Movie - NERDFIGHT!

April 16, 2019

What's the BEST MCU Movie? It's time for a NERDFIGHT! Episode 4 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Mike Ehmke, host of The Mighty Marvel Geeks podcast, and Megan Salinas, host of the No Love Lost podcast join Daryl Smith and Sandra Dimas to fight over the best MCU movie!!!

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay hang out in studio with Sandra and Megan to discuss their favorite MCU movies... $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Evolution of Thor Throughout the MCU… with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

The Evolution of Thor Throughout the MCU… with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

April 9, 2019

The Evolution of Thor in the MCU. Episode 3 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl Smith and Jay Sherer to dig deeper into Thor's evolution and his character journey through the MCU.

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay talk about more characters and their journeys throughout the MCU... this week: the characters who died in Infinity War (e.g., Gamora, Spider-Man, Black Panther, and more!). $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

NERDFIGHT! The Best Spider-Man… with Michael Gordon from the ESO Network

NERDFIGHT! The Best Spider-Man… with Michael Gordon from the ESO Network

April 2, 2019

Who's the BEST Spider-Man? It's NERDFIGHT time!!!

Here's Episode 2 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Michael Gordon, co-host of the Earth Station One Podcast and the writer behind Tiki Zombie, moderates today's NERDFIGHT between Jay Sherer, Justin Weaver, and Sandra Dimas.

 

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

  • Week 1: IRON MAN in the MCU

  • Week 2: NERDFIGHT: The BEST Spider-Man
    • Guest: Michael Gordon from the ESO Podcast
  • Week 3: THOR in the MCU 
    • Guest: Helen O'Hara from the Empire Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: Characters who lived through Infinity War
  • Week 4: NERDFIGHT: The BEST MCU Film
    • Guests: ...to be announced
  • Week 5: CAPTAIN MARVEL 
    • Guest: Marie-Claire from the What the Force Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: ...digging even deeper!
  • Week 6: AVENGERS: ENDGAME Reaction (also available on our YouTube channel recorded LIVE)

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

THE AFTERCAST: Michael Gordon talks more about who his personal choice for the best Spider-Man would have been. $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

IRON MAN in the MCU - I am your nuclear deterrent - With Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

IRON MAN in the MCU - I am your nuclear deterrent - With Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast

March 26, 2019

IRON MAN in the MCU. Episode 1 in our MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) serial leading up to AVENGERS: ENDGAME!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl Smith and Jay Sherer to dig deeper into Tony Stark as IRON MAN and his character journey through the MCU.

SUBSCRIBE TO GET MORE MCU SERIAL PODCASTS:

  • Week 1: IRON MAN in the MCU

  • Week 2: NERDFIGHT: The BEST Spider-Man
    • Guest: Michael Gordon from the ESO Podcast
  • Week 3: THOR in the MCU 
    • Guest: Helen O'Hara from the Empire Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: Characters who lived through Infinity War
  • Week 4: NERDFIGHT: The BEST MCU Film
    • Guests: ...to be announced
  • Week 5: CAPTAIN MARVEL 
    • Guest: Marie-Claire from the What the Force Podcast
    • AFTERCAST: ...digging even deeper!
  • Week 6: AVENGERS: ENDGAME Reaction (also available on our YouTube channel recorded LIVE)

Missed our deeper dive into Captain America's character journey through the MCU? Listen to that here: https://thestorygeeks.org/2018/05/22/captain-america-you-move/

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Jay talk about more characters and their journeys throughout the MCU... this week: the characters who died in Infinity War (e.g., Gamora, Spider-Man, Black Panther, and more!). $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com | Jay: @JaySherer | Daryl: @darylhsmith | Sandra: @sand_rad | Justin: @justintheweaver

The Death of Superman with Dan Jurgens

The Death of Superman with Dan Jurgens

March 19, 2019

The ideal superhero: SUPERMAN. Dan Jurgens, author of The Death of Superman, joins Daryl and Justin to dig deeper into this iconic story.

Iconic comic book writer and artist, Dan Jurgens, explains how The Death of Superman was made. How the story and artwork came together. His approach to this classic story. And much more!

 

THE AFTERCAST: Daryl and Justin break down more iconic superhero deaths! More opinions from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

Batman v. Batman - Who’s the BEST live-action Dark Knight?

Batman v. Batman - Who’s the BEST live-action Dark Knight?

March 12, 2019

Our latest NERDFIGHT: Batman v. Batman v. Batman!!!

Mike Gordon, host of the ESO Podcast and writer of Tiki Zombie, moderates our latest NERDFIGHT! Here are the fighters and their choices for the BEST live-action Dark Knight:

Who will win? Who SHOULD win? Mike Gordon will decide! Listen to the podcast, and then PLACE YOUR VOTE on our poll in The Story Geeks Facebook Group poll!

 

THE AFTERCAST: Mike Gordon shares his opinion on who he thinks the BEST Batman is! More opinions from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

Top 5 Tim Burton Movies w/ Josh Taylor from Network 1901

Top 5 Tim Burton Movies w/ Josh Taylor from Network 1901

March 5, 2019

Top 5 Tim Burton movies! With Dumbo coming out soon, we thought we'd take a trip down memory lane to see what other Tim Burton movies we loved.

Sandra Dimas and Justin Weaver are joined by Nick Duke and Josh Taylor (from Network 1901) to give their Top 5 Tim Burton Movies on today's The Story Geeks podcast!

Special thanks to the following Patreon CONTRIBUTORS for sharing their lists: Jim and Merrie!

 

THE AFTERCAST: What came in at 10 through 6? Sandra, Justin, Nick, and Josh share theirs on our Patreon AFTERCAST! Available to Patreon supporters at $2-a-month or more!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

INFINITY WAR - The plot, inflection points, and premise explained - Story Breakdown

INFINITY WAR - The plot, inflection points, and premise explained - Story Breakdown

March 1, 2019

INFINITY WAR doesn't follow the common, three-act structure--not exactly. And yet, the plotting and inflection points are fantastic. Jay Sherer takes a writer's view of INFINITY WAR and breaks down the story: each act, all the inflection points, and the premise.

 

THE AFTERCAST: Jay looks at the wants (external goals) and needs (internal emotional desires) of the characters in INFINITY WAR! $2-a-month supporters get access to this and ALL our Aftercasts. More content from The Story Geeks on The Story Geeks Aftercast!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com

INFINITY WAR with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast - Let’s Dig Deeper

INFINITY WAR with Helen O’Hara from the Empire Podcast - Let’s Dig Deeper

February 26, 2019

AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR! We continue to dig deeper into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) by covering INFINITY WAR!

Helen O'Hara, editor-at-large and freelancer at Empire Magazine and one of the hosts of the Empire Podcast (and one of our favorite guests), joins Daryl Smith and Jay Sherer to dig deeper into the precursor to AVENGERS: ENDGAME, INFINITY WAR!

 

On this week's AFTERCAST... Helen, Daryl, and Jay continue to dig deeper into AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR. Extra content from The Story Geeks, available now on The Story Geeks Patreon account! You get exclusive access to Patreon for only $2-a-month!

 

LINKS:

 

SUBSCRIBE

iTunes | Podbean | Stitcher | Spotify

 

SOCIAL

Facebook Group | The Story Geeks YouTube Channel | Reclamation Society YouTube Channel

Twitter | Instagram | Email: thestorygeeks@gmail.com